Countries that no longer exist

countries that no longer exist

This is no news that the world has had some drastic changes in the past few years. Whether it was economies falling apart, global politics taking a hit, or a pandemic taking over. Something or the other kept us all entertained.

If we add another thing to the list, it would be how much the counties have changed in number as some have been abolished completely and others have changed their names and there are also countries that no longer exist either.

Here, we have a list of countries that no longer exist.


This city was once known as the Ethiopian Empire. Abyssinia was located in northeast Africa; it was considered to be a kingdom. It was split into two cities, Eritrea and Ethiopia in the 20th century.


Austria-Hungary was a monarchy established in 1867. It was also known as the Austrio-Hungarian empire. The monarchy did not include just Austria and Hungary but also parts of the Czech Republic as well as Poland, Italy, Romania, and the Balkans. The empire came to an end after its collapse after World War 1.


Bengal existed as an independent kingdom in Asia between 1338 and 1539. Today, the area has been divided into Bangladesh and India.


Catalonia was a region in Spain that remained independent between 1932 and 1934 and also again between 1936 and 1939.

Ceylon was an island state located off the coast of India. This country did not exactly finish. Instead, its name was changed in 1972 to Sri Lanka.


The name pretty much tells us everything. It was located in eastern Europe and was divided into two separate states, Czech Republic and Slovakia in 1993.

East Pakistan

East Pakistan was a province located in Pakistan between 1947 (after the Partition) and 1971. It was separated to make a whole new state altogether know today as Bangladesh.

Gran Columbia

It was a South American country that included a bunch of countries which in the modern day are Columbia, Venezuela, Ecuador, and Panama. This was between 1819 and 1830. Gran Columbia did not exist once Ecuador and Venezuela dropped out.


Although Hawaii was a kingdom for hundreds of years, it was not until 1840 that it was recognized as an independent state. And in 1898, it was annexed to the United States.

New Granada

New Granada was a South American country part of Gran Columbia between 1819 and 1830. It was an independent country between 1830 and 1858. The country’s name had been changed a couple of times. In 1858, it was known as Grenadine Confederation. Then in 1861, it was called the United States of New Grenada, the United States of Columbia in 1863, and finally in 1886 the Republic of Columbia.


It was between 1907 and 1949, Newfoundland existed as the Dominion of Newfoundland. In 1949, it joined Canada as a state.

North Yemen and South Yemen

In 1967, Yemen split into two countries to form North Yemen, also known as the Yemen Arab Republic, and South Yemen which was known as the People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen. In 1990, the states joined forces to form the one state of Yemen as we know it today.

Ottoman Empire

This empire began in 1300 and expanded to part of Russia, Turkey, Hungary, the Balkans, northern Africa, and the Middle East. It was also known as the Turkish Empire and it ceased to exist once Turkey pulled out to gain independence in 1923.


Also known as the Persian Empire, Persia was an empire that extended between the Mediterranean Sea and India. Modern-day Persia was formed in the 16th century and today, it is known as Iran.


Prussia became a kingdom in 1760. At the peak of its power, it included parts of Poland and Germany. Prussia was a federal unit of Germany during World War 2 and it was also dissolved soon after.

Scotland, Wales, and England

Even though there have been recent changes in the economy, Scotland and Wales were once a part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and North Ireland. Scotland and Wales were both independent states until they merged with England to form the United Kingdom.

countries that no longer exist


Sikkim was an independent monarchy from the 17th century until 1975. Today, it is a part of Northern India.

South Vietnam

South Vietnam existed between 1954 and 1976. It was considered to be North Vietnam’s anti-communist counterpart. Today, it is part of Vietnam.


Although Taiwan still exists today, it is not considered an independent state. It represented China in the UN until 1971.


The Republic of Texas became independent after being freed from the state of Mexico in 1836. It existed as an independent country until 1845 when it was merged with the United States.


It was a kingdom established in the 7th century. Tibet was invaded by China in 1950. Since 1950, it is known as the Xizang Autonomous Region of China

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)

For many years, this country was considered to be the most powerful communist region in the world. However, in 1991 it broke into 15 new countries which included: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldovia, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

United Arab Republic

In 1958, Syria and Egypt joined forced to form the United Arab Republic. In 1961, Syria left the alliance but Egypt continued to call itself the United Arab Republic for another 10 years.

So that is the list of the countries that no longer exist. Will there be more in the future? We will have to wait and watch.

Politigory provides in-depth reviews of science, history, humanities, religion, social sciences and arts 🌎

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog

Vegetarian Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is celebrated each year to show one’s gratefulness, family gathering are a must, and let’s

Why the name Turkey?

Turkey is the main dish, the centerpiece of every Thanksgiving Dinner. There are a number of